Lubbock City Council Recognizes Members of Redistricting Committee and New Board Appointees

At this week’s Lubbock City Council meeting, the council recognized the members of a board which will become increasingly important over the next few months.

Mayor Tom Martin introduced the members of the City’s Redistricting Advisory Committee, who are charged with setting the boundaries for Lubbock’s six city council districts, based on the population determined by the 2010 census.

The 15-member committee had a preliminary meeting last Monday.

Those appointed to this committee, which is only created once every ten years are Olga Aguero, Bernie Bass, Bill Bates, Dustin Burrows, Ken Corbin, Charlie Hamilton, Michelle Hunter, Marc McDougal, Burley Owens, Maurice Stanley, Mike Stevens, Morris Wilkes, and Maurice Williams. Chairing the committee is former U.S. Magistrate J.Q. Warnick, with former Lubbock City Councilwoman Maggie Trejo as vice chair.

Two new board members, Toby Cecil and Brenda Hawkins, were appointed to the City’s Housing Authority board.

Also, Rick Trice was appointed by Mayor Martin to chair the Audit and Investment Committee, and District 4 Lubbock City Councilman Paul R. Beane appointed Dave King to the Libraries Board.


%d bloggers like this: